Follow

How to Upgrade a Membership

Check it out!

You now have the option to automatically allocate the remaining balance of the current membership's payment to the new upgraded membership!

 

Zen Planner's upgrade membership function allows you to upgrade (or downgrade) a person's current membership at any time using the Upgrade Membership link on a membership's detail screen. When you upgrade someone's membership, their current membership is dropped and a new membership is added on the date you specify.

 Please note that when a membership is upgraded, all future reservations tied to that membership will be deleted. 

 

HOW TO UPGRADE A MEMBERSHIP: 

From the current membership, hover over the "current" button on the left-hand side and click on Upgrade from the menu.

_5c976972b7f4b17f561ebf0b4a52f4da__Image_2019-02-25_at_1.51.36_PM.png

In the popup menu, use the New Membership field to select the membership option that you want to use for the upgraded (or downgraded) membership. Use the Upgrade Date field to select when the upgrade (or downgrade) should take effect.

Next to Allocate Balance, you have the option to automatically allocate the remaining balance of the current membership's payment to the new upgraded membership. If you want this to happen upon save, make sure that the checkbox next to Allocate Balance is selected. 

Image_2019-02-15_at_1.37.00_PM.png

Once you click save, you will be brought to the following page and you will see a green banner at the top indicating the amount that has been allocated to the new membership if you selected this on the previous screen. 

Image_2019-03-06_at_5.16.37_PM.png

When you go to the Membership History page once the upgrade is complete, you will now see that the current membership has been dropped as of the upgrade date and a new membership has been added as of the upgrade date.

Image_2019-03-04_at_9.41.27_AM.png

When you click on the membership that was upgraded, you will see that the payment amount was automatically reconciled to reflect the prorated amount if you selected "Allocate Balance" on the previous screen.

Image_2019-03-06_at_5.23.43_PM.png

When you click on the new membership, you will see that the remaining payment amount from the membership that was upgraded is now showing as a payment towards bills of the new membership.

Image_2019-03-06_at_5.31.59_PM.png

 

HOW THE ALLOCATING BALANCE FEATURE WORKS: 

If the checkbox next to Allocate Balance is selected, the system will automatically calculate the allocation amount to the new membership by taking the percentage paid in the current membership divided by the days used in the current membership.

Please note that the allocation ONLY WORKS WITH PAID BILLS IN THE CURRENT MEMBERSHIP THAT IS BEING UPGRADED.

Here are the rules on how this feature works: 

- If a bill on the membership being upgraded is unpaid, no reallocation amount will be available

- If there is a paid bill on another membership besides the current membership being upgraded, it will NOT be reallocated.

- If the total bills for the new membership are more than the allocation amount, the allocation amount applies to the next bill/bills of the new membership.

- If the total bills for the new membership are less than the allocation amount, the bills for the new membership will be paid in full and the remaining amount goes to the account balance (Click HERE for a help document on how to use account balances in Zen Planner)

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk